Archive for Binmaley


Posted in UNO Press Release with tags , , , , , , , , , , on September 21, 2009 by joselito capariño


Local executives from across the Philippines have crossed party lines to express their support for Makati Mayor and United Opposition (UNO) President Jejomar C. Binay’s plan to run for vice president in 2010.

Surigao del Sur Gov. Vicente Pimentel said the local chief executives come from all parties, including the administration Lakas-KAMPI-CMD, and span the major provinces of Pangasinan, Bohol, Laguna, Batangas, Cotabato, Surigao, Pampanga, Quezon and Camarines Sur.

“It just shows that this is not about partisan politics. My fellow local chief executives recognize the need for change and the need to empower the local government units. We believe that Mayor Binay will help us realize this goal,” he said.

Binmaley, Pangasinan Mayor Sammy Rosario said the local executives are unanimous in expressing their support for Binay, and have been informed that more mayors will join their ranks in a couple of weeks.

“We all believe that Jojo Binay is the example of effective governance, and whoever is elected president will benefit from having someone with Binay’s track record, experience, and concern for the common people as his vice president,” he said.

For his part, Kidapawan City Mayor Rodolfo Gantuangco said Binay’s 20 years as Makati’s mayor is proof that the “he has the experience and political will needed in the executive branch.”

“We have seen what Mayor Binay has done in Makati . He has the competence and the know-how, and being a mayor himself, he knows the needs of local governments. He can help the president focus on social programs and help the local government officials in replicating his achievements in our localities,” Gantuangco said.

Meanwhile, Lucena City Mayor Ramon Y. Talaga Jr. said Binay’s idea to give more power to LGUs will help localities improve the services they render to their constituents.

“Right now, some LGUs are dependent on their Internal Revenue Allotments for salaries and wages for their employees and for development programs – if they are lucky. We need to review the disbursement of IRA, and all other funds for that matter, to ensure that localities have enough funds to create projects for their constituents. We need someone to speak for us in national government about this. I believe Binay is more than qualified to be that someone,” Talaga said.

According to Binay’s spokesman, Lito Anzures, the support for the Makati mayor reflects the true sentiments of the country’s mayors for change in national government.

“Mayor Binay has always believed that for the country to be progressive, the local government units must be progressive. He has shared his belief in LGU empowerment to his fellow mayors. They have seen it work for Makati . And now they believe Binay’s advocacies will work for the country,” Anzures said.

“This growing support for Mayor Binay is a message from the local executives that someone from their ranks would be the best to represent them in the national government,” he said.

Among the local executives who are backing Binay for vice president include Mayor Ferdinand B. Trinidad, Iguig, Cagayan; Mayor Cesar P. Baroña, Sr.,Lacub, Abra; Mayor Sandra Y. Eriguel, Agoo, La Union; Mayor Andrew Vincent R. Pagurayan, Sto. Niño, Cagayan; Mayor Wilfredo S. Domingo, Licab, Nueva Ecija; Mayor Peter B. Flores, Masantol, Pampanga; Mayor Angel L. Cruz, Jr., Hagonoy, Bulacan; Mayor Ariel T. Magcalas, Sta. Cruz, Laguna; Mayor Marilen B.Alonte, Biñan, Laguna; Mayor Rhyan M. Dolor, Bauan, Batangas; Mayor Ramon Y. Talaga, Jr., Lucena City, Quezon; Mayor Joy A, Cabangon, Gumaca, Quezon; Mayor Melencio L. de Sagun, Jr., Trece Martires City, Cavite; Mayor Luis A. Ferrer IV – Gen. Trias, Cavite; Mayor Lily R. Estoya, Calintaan , Occidental Mindoro; Mayor Eric A. Constantino, Abra de Ilog, Occidental Mindoro; Mayor Romar G. Marcos, Naujan, Oriental Mindoro; Mayor Jackson C. Dy, Roxas, Oriental Mindoro; Mayor Lemuel F. Cipriano, Concepcion, Romblon, Mayor Cicero C. Triunfante – Daraga, Albay.

Mayor Vicente B. Flores, Jr., Oton, Iloilo; Mayor Elyzer C. Chavez, Passi City, Iloilo; Mayor Rony L. Molina, San Jose de Buenavista, Antique; Mayor Dan Neri Lim, Tagbilaran City, Bohol; Mayor Reynato M. Latorre, Villareal, Samar; Mayor Gil Norman P. Germino, Can-avid, Eastern Samar; Mayor Cesar G. Tagon, Sr., Hernani, Eastern Samar.

Mayor Nenita M. Suyao, Kalilangan, Bukidnon; Mayor Arsenio A. Latasa, Digos City, Davao del Sur; Mayor Rodolfo Y. Gantuangco, Kidapawan City, North Cotabato; Mayor Carl Elias C. Lademora, San Francisco, Agusan del Sur; Mayor Dale Corvera, Cabadbaran City, Agusan del Norte; Mayor Alfonso Casura, Surigao City; Mayor Mohammad Aquil A. Mamainte, Bayang, Lanao del Sur; Mayor Datu Mohammad Paglas, Sr.,Datu Paglas, Maguindanao; Mayor Datu Allandatu M. Angas, Sultan sa Barongis, Maguindanao; Mayor Datu Adbulkarin T. Langkuno, Paglat, Maguindanao ; Mayor Al-haj Bonnie Kali, Gen. Salipada K. Pendatum, Maguindanao; and Mayor Hussin U. Amin, Jolo, Sulu.