BINAY TO RUN FOR VP; PRESSES FOR COALITION OF OPPOSITION PARTIES, GROUPS FOR 2010 POLLS

PRESS RELEASE
9 SEPTEMBER 2009
REF: JOEY SALGADO

Makati Mayor and United Opposition (UNO) president Jejomar C. Binay today officially announced his decision to run for vice president in the 2010 elections, saying he hopes his move would help unify the political opposition.

Binay issued the statement after Sen. Benigno “Noynoy” Aquino III announced his decision to run for president at the Club Filipino.

“I have always said that if my bid for the presidency will be an obstacle in achieving unity within the opposition, I am willing to give way,” Binay said.

“After consulting with the other leaders of the PDP-Laban, the party has decided to support my bid for the vice presidency. It is a decision that I accept. I hope that this will pave the way to uniting the opposition,” he added.

The Makati mayor cited he strong ties between Aquino and the PDP-Laban headed by Binay. In the 1985 snap presidential election, former President Corazon Aquino ran under the PDP-Laban.

The opposition leader said the entry of Aquino in the presidential contest provides a reason for the different opposition parties to consider forming a coalition for the 2010 polls. He said he is willing to mediate possible unity talks between Aquino and former president Joseph Estrada.

“There is all the more reason to pursue negotiations among the parties identified with the opposition for a possible coalition. As president of the United Opposition (UNO), this is an obligation that I am taking on. As a first step, I intend to mediate talks between former president Joseph Estrada and Sen. Aquino at the soonest possible time,” he said.

Mayor Binay’s full statement follows:

“I welcome the decision of Sen. Benigno “Noynoy” Aquino III to run for president in the 2010 election.

“Although Sen. Aquino is a member of the Liberal Party, he has very close ties with my party, the PDP-Laban, of which I am the national president. In the 1985 snap election, Senator Aquino’s mother, former President Corazon Aquino, ran under the PDP-Laban banner.

“There is all the more reason to pursue negotiations among the parties identified with the opposition for a possible coalition. As president of the United Opposition (UNO), this is an obligation that I am taking on. As a first step, I intend to mediate talks between former president Joseph Estrada and Sen. Aquino at the soonest possible time.

“I have always said that if my bid for the presidency will be an obstacle in achieving unity within the opposition, I am willing to give way.

“After consulting with the other leaders of the PDP-Laban, the party has decided to support my bid for the vice presidency. It is a decision that I accept, and I hope, will pave the way to uniting the opposition.”

3 Responses to “BINAY TO RUN FOR VP; PRESSES FOR COALITION OF OPPOSITION PARTIES, GROUPS FOR 2010 POLLS”

  1. Go Mayor Binay… I’m eager to support you whatever your plan.

  2. Grace G. Baldisseri Says:

    You are the best among the VP bets! Go, go, go!

  3. Grace G. Baldisseri Says:

    Your achievements speak well of your leadership.
    I believe you will make a good VP no matter who will
    be the next President. Go, Jojo, go! Your Fil-Am friends
    are just eager to support you.

Leave a Reply

